About SHS

The School of Health Sciences (SHS) started as a Department of Public Health, which was previously in the School of Pure and Applied Sciences. The SHS was established in 2012 with one department. The establishment of the School was driven by the need to address the challenges of changing disease transmission landscape of current times, by training public health professionals in research, teaching and innovative community service. The first Chair of Department in the School of Health Sciences was Ms. Caroline Karani, who served two years between 2012 and 2014. The founding Dean was Prof. Eric Muchiri (2012-2014). Since then to date, various deans have taken leadership. The Current Dean of the school is Gervase Miriti.

1. Department of Public Health
2. Department of Clinical Medicine and Community Health
3. Department of Laboratory Sciences